Home > Sharings > Finest Moment

Finest Moment

So it’s quite obvious that I transferred from my longtime blogging platform (Tabulas) to here, Blogetery wordpress.com.  Tabulas and I had a little misunderstanding and thus I ran away from a relatively secluded free blog host that still houses my 148 entries published since 2004.  All of a sudden, Tabulas seems to stop hosting the images that I inserted into some of my entries and as a result, those images now don’t show up!  I mean, what the hell is wrong with them?  I was just too damn tired to think and that’s why I simply decided to pack up.  It was difficult to abandon the place but what can I do?  Sometimes in life, we just have to move on.  But does it matter now?  Come on dear readers, the most important thing now is that I’m back in blogging business (non-profit though).  And I’ve heard someone said, “Yeah!”  And I’ve even heard a smack, haven’t I?  Well anyway, let’s start with the usual how I’ve been.  Well, I’m doing fine!  And that was just lame.  Because  I’ve been doing spectacular!  As a practicing CPA (ehermm) and a guy who once vehemently chucked even the idea of taking up Accountancy in college, doing spectacular at work in the geeky ambiance of the finance department could be the most rare scenario that you could ever catch me doing.  Well, aside from that scenario wherein you will bump into me along one of the streets in our subdivision after spotting me trying so hard to glorify myself by flexing my biceps with my favorite black sando on.  Because as you’ve already known, I’ve been ‘dorky’ weird my whole life.  But seriously now, I just want to share that in the beginning, I was honestly on the verge of quitting my job due to a really, really BAD turn-over and the boxes of backlogs that seemed, at the outset, SO impossible to process without hitting the deadline.  The deadline, let me tell you, was literally a FATAL line because failure to process ALL the backlogs could basically lead to a significant loss of cash.  And there’s really no need to explain how important cash is for a company as well as any government.  But thank God, my positive attitude towards adversity helped me save millions of pesos for the company, a huge amount I’ve decided not to disclose accurately 🙂  In other words, I had successfully processed them all before the deadline came.  I even filed a leave for one day, just a day before the deadline to attend my cousin’s wedding.  Ok, although I’m a gentle smug most of the time, I didn’t share this to you just for the sake of another ego tripping.  I shared this to you because once again, a simple lesson can be learned and here it is: Job turn-over is essential! Our attitudes differ and even though they materially don’t, they could be of different magnitude.  And when work backlogs are turned over to you without getting a good explanation even about the process overview, your attitude, no matter what it is, can have an influence on the outcome.  I couldn’t expect anyone to turn over an immaculately systematic job.  There’s no such thing.  All that I want to expect from anyone is at least a decent and complete discussion of the job’s overview.  In my case, I wasn’t lucky to get that because I’ve been learning SAP even without a single input from the person I replaced that could’ve really been a great foundation.  I even found his approach ridiculously inefficient.  But of course, I didn’t spend many days just fuming at all these.  I just worked and worked in a very calculated pace while struggling to learn along the way.  And now I feel like I’m a prized employee of the company who has radically infused change into the whole process in just a short span of time haha.  From the way I solve technical problems that’s never been done before to the way I handle some people (especially those people I highly require diligence from as they really could affect the books as a whole), that’s the kind of change which I believe President Obama has been trying to instill among us.  All I wanted to impart all along is that your darkest hour could be your finest moment.  I’ve just got this from Tope’s Friendster shout-out.  Well what can you expect?  I’m a plagiarist.  But seriously guys, it’s really fun if you can perceive problems as opportunities.  Try it sometimes.  And by the way, welcome to the new Slacker’s Nook :)

Categories: Sharings Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment